Is May 21, 2011 the end of the world?

Summary: NO!

Longer(ish) summary: Family Radio evangelist Harold Camping (the man responsible for #iftheworldendsonsaturday and #judgementday trending on Twitter) does not believe that the world is ending tomorrow. Camping believes that the rapture — the day Christians, dead and alive meet Jesus in the sky, will take place tomorrow.

Post: The first time I walked through the NYC subway tunnel between Port Authority and Times Square Station, I noticed a depressing series of plaques affixed to the steel beams that held the ceiling up:

So tired…

Why bother?

Just go home…

Whaaa?!

Those were a few of the messages I could read because each sign is placed on every tenth roof-beam or so and it’s hard to read as the tunnel is usually packed with people.

A few months ago when my friends came to visit me from London, I managed to read each sign as we walked through the tunnel. The poem (I noticed it rhymed) was definitely as depressing as I had guessed it to be:

OVERSLEPT, SO TIRED. IF LATE, GET FIRED.WHY BOTHER? WHY THE PAIN? JUST GO HOME, DO IT AGAIN.

After reading the poem and coming to the end of the tunnel, I saw a few tables with Christian leaflets and CD’s on them, placed by people wearing t-shirts with bible passages on them. Ahhh, could this be the purpose of the signs — No hope without God? Maybe.

I admired the people out there daily to evangelize. I wouldn’t do it but I thought, God bless them — they are doing what they believe they are called to do.

My opinion of these people has drastically changed.

Photograph: Spencer Platt/Getty Images

Not so long after walking thorough the tunnel with my friends from home, I noticed a change in the Christian’s uniform. The date of Jesus’ return! Oh boooooy.

It’s so annoying when the crazy Christians get under the spotlight. Due to their failure to understand the bible, all Christians alike look crazy. Now I’m seeing comments on Facebook, Twitter and all over the gaff about; Christians are so this and so that — usually attached to “LOL” in some way or the other. So I’m going to share what the bible says about the rapture that I’m sure more Christians than the Christians waiting for the rapture tomorrow believe/know about.

If more people read Matthew 24, all this end of world baloney would be attached to the crazies instead of all Christians. Some of us Christians actually study our faith! Here are some key verses taken from the Matthew 24:

3And as he sat upon the mount of Olives, the disciples came unto him privately, saying, Tell us, when shall these things be? And what shall be the sign of thy coming, and of the end of the world?

4And Jesus answered and said unto them, Take heed that no man deceive you.

6And ye shall hear of wars and rumours of wars: see that ye be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet.

7 For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places.

8All these are the beginning of sorrows.

11And many false prophets shall rise, and shall deceive many.

21For then shall be great tribulation, such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, no, nor ever shall be.

23Then if any man shall say unto you, Lo, here is Christ, or there; believe it not.

24For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.

31And he shall send his angels with a great sound of a trumpet, and they shall gather together his elect from the four winds, from one end of heaven to the other.

34Verily I say unto you, This generation shall not pass, till all these things be fulfilled.

36But of that day and hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels of heaven, but my Father only.

42Watch therefore: for ye know not what hour your Lord doth come.

50The lord of that servant shall come in a day when he looketh not for him, and in an hour that he is not aware of

Case closed? Well, not entirely.

I have to admit that it is possible that, while the chapter indicates that no one at that time could know the timing of Jesus’ return, there’s room to believe God could reveal the timing in the future.

Personally, I don’t believe God has revealed the date to anyone. Camping has manipulated scripture to calculate the date of the rapture despite the fact that no scripture in the bible encourages anyone to try to determine the date. Rather, we are to “keep watch, because we do not know on which day our Lord will come.”

The dude isn’t even credible! He previously predicted that Jesus would come back in 1994. Obviously, he was wrong.

I just spoke to my mum on the phone about this whole saga and she told me she hopes no one will kill themselves when the rapture doesn’t happen. I told her I’m putting my money on the May 21st folk hiding because they want to trick us or because they’re embarrassed!

I’m tired of hearing about May 21st and I’ll be glad when I wake up the next day (God willing)! On Sunday, May 22nd, I shall be going to church and then to a cool organic food place my roomie told me about. What will you be doing?

Leave a Reply

