Obama slaps egg on Trump’s face at dinner

That would have been hilarious if Obama literally had slapped egg on Trump’s face! However, Obama did the next best thing — aided Trump into being the laughing-stock he appears determined to be!

At the White House Correspondents’ Association Dinner last night, Obama addressed the “birthers ” who claim he wasn’t born in Hawaii. Trump isn’t the only person to have raised questions about Obama’s birth-place but he happily sounded off like a trumpet (pun intended though badly done) to become one of the loudest voices in the “birthers” camp.  I first heard about these accusations when Obama was running for President and I remember watching a story on BBC news where the journalist had visited Hawaii to interview people who swore to Obama being born there. Personally, I don’t care where Obama was born. I was shocked that so much air-time was being given to Obama’s birth-place until I remembered that if Obama was not born in the United States, he would be ineligible to be president of the United States. This was a serious accusation and got the air-time it deserved.

However, Obama last week at long last released his long form birth certificate to put the rumors (I’m sure they had long been disproved) to bed. I hoped this would shut Trump up. Au contraire. Trump is actually taking credit for the release of the birth certificate! Perhaps in a way, he was the last straw that made Obama show the certificate…

Trump has been and still is  everywhere I turn on the net. Every news network seems to have given Trump the attention he clearly thrives on and in a way I’m a part of the problem writing a post all about him! After all, no publicity is bad publicity, especially if you’re someone whose greatest asset is your name! Although it pains me to say, that’s amazing.

At the dinner, which Trump apparently  was booed at as he arrived, Obama’s speech ridiculed Republicans and movie stars but Trump was the target for most of his jokes:

“Donald Trump is here. I know he’s taken some flack recently, but no one is more ready to put the birther issue to rest than the Donald,” President Obama said. “So he can focus real issues at hand facing America, like ‘Did we really land on the moon?’ ‘What really happened in Roswell?’ And, ‘Where are Biggie and Tupac?’”

Shame. But Obama clearly gave up his day job up for a moment with the jokes he still had left up his sleeve. Watch below:

I don’t feel sorry for Trump because he really has bought this on himself. Trump has since commented on Obama’s speech:

“Well, I really understood what I was getting into — I didn’t know that I’d be virtually the sole focus,” Trump said. “I guess when you’re leading in the polls that tends to happen. But I was certainly in a certain way having a good time listening.”

*sigh* Guess he eats up any egg on his face and leaves the humble pie to the side…

“I don’t think the American people are having a good time paying $5 gasoline and their clothing prices doubling and all of the other problems that they’ve got,” Trump said. “You look at what’s happening with food, so I was thinking to myself as they were doing this, the American people are suffering and we’re all having a good time. I think it’s inappropriate in certain respects, but I thought the delivery was good.”

Indeed it was. I don’t think Trump is a serious political contender for the Obama administration and I hope his media attention will die down a bit sooner rather than later. I would hate to have to boycott Celebrity Apprentice, which is starting in less than two hours…

What do you think?

2 responses to “Obama slaps egg on Trump’s face at dinner

  1. Trump won’t let the media attention die down. He’s the one who’s been on every talk show in the country. I never liked the guy, so I’ve never wasted my time watching his reality show.

  2. True. I don’t care for him much but I do like the apprentice. #Dilemma

Leave a Reply

