Why so serious?

Last week news broke that Marilyn Davenport (a member of the Republican Central Committee of Orange County) had sent an email of the image above to some of  her fellow Republican comrades. As if depicting the President and his parents as apes wasn’t insulting enough, the caption above the photo in the email read, “Now you know why no birth certificate.”

When questioned by the journalist that wrote the story, Davenport was defiant.

“Oh, come on! Everybody who knows me knows that I am not a racist.”

“It was a joke. I have friends who are black. Besides, I only sent it to a few people — mostly people I didn’t think would be upset by it.”

“You’re not going to make a big deal about this, are you?”

Well, yes.

It is a big deal. A big deal to some and more than you might initially imagine. Some of her fellow Republicans have condemned her actions and even insisted that she should resign from her committee seat with the Orange County GOP. She’s apologized but she ain’t budging.

I am sick to the bone of hearing people like Davenport, Mr. Trump and Sarah Palin discuss Obama’s roots. Seriously. The email has sparked more debate over Obama’s birth place, (which is a joke) but more seriously,  attacking Obama’s heritage in this manner shows there are still some walls of fear and racism yet to fall.

As Scott Baugh, chairman of the Orange County Republican Party, said, what Davenport did was “despicable” and “dripping with racism.” I refrain from labeling comments/people as racist at the drop of a hat but if the shoe fits….

Although  Obama being black slipped her mind it does not change that he is. Obama’s election was a historic moment for a nation that once regarded men and women like Obama as less than human. A nation whose law considered African-Americans as mere property. A nation where people like me were viewed as animals… so yes, I believe sending a picture of Obama’s face superimposing a baby’s ape is a tad bit on the racist side.

I spoke to my “go-to”person when it comes to spilling out all my thoughts, troubles and confusion (when I’m not praying) and he wasn’t half as bothered as I was. It came up that George W. Bush was also depicted as a monkey while President. True. But Bush isn’t black so of course this didn’t generate huge attention. Bush was illustrated as a chimp because people thought he was stupid, not because of where he is from.

Now, I’m not saying that Davenport herself is racist. She appears for whatever reason repentant. Davenport said, “I want people to know that I humbly apologize and ask for forgiveness for my unwise behavior.” Unwise? Plain stupid.

As I have said in an earlier post, there are many policies Democrats and Republicans alike can be unhappy with Obama about. So why oh why would an intelligent Republican want to lower the dialogue about Obama’s presidency to such a distasteful level? Why should anyone go beyond opposing Obama because of his policies and political ideologies? As President, it is expected that he should receive severe scrutiny but playing on old fears about his background is unacceptable.

His faith, birth-place and even credentials have all been called into question by opponents but this takes the biscuit. Surely there are more pressing issues to be worry about than Obama’s background? I may be supporting (for now) Obama in the next election but I sure know he’s supported and not supported policies that challenge my support.

Can’t Obama’s opponents like Donald Trump find anything else to attack/criticize Obama about other than his heritage?

Well if that’s all they’ve got to say, then they’ll only make Obama’s 2012 political race easier if the nation is to vote wisely– that is if people look towards policies to decide who to vote for. Focussing on Obama’s background sheds no light on the direction he has/is/will take the nation in. So people may be more inclined to listen to Obama’s clear message…

So for that reason I believe Davenport ought to resign even if the only reason she does so is because it’s  best for her party.

What do you think?

6 responses to “Why so serious?

  1. For the last time:
    W. as a chimp was a twist on Reagan and the movie Bedtime for Bonzo.

    • Ooh can you elaborate? I’ve never heard about that before. However I’m not convinced that every picture of Bush as a chimp was expressing the twist you mention…some people just thought he lacked intelligence.

      • Sorry, I wasn’t upset with you, but the idea the W./Chimp stuff was racist is utter nonsense. At the start of W.’s time in office, Reagan was his hero, as nine-tenths of his administration previously worked for the Iran-Contra President. Back then Photoshop was new, and a couple of people kinda simultaneously came up with the Bedtime for Bonzo idea. That’s where W. the Chimp originated. Some people might not have understood the joke, but most folks did.

      • No worries. I wasn’t aware that people suggested calling Bush a monkey was racist. I don’t see the connection but I guess if people are determined to make a statement, they’ll find pretty much any way of justifying what they’re saying. My main point was that there is a difference between depicting Obama and Bush as a chimp. Whatever the reasons for doing so are, both are insulting but only one of those action would be, “dripping with racism.”

        Why the Obama picture as your profile picture?

  2. You made some good points there. I did a search on the field and found the majority of persons will have the same belief with your blog. Thanks! quite helpful post.

  3. some unquestionably nice and utilitarian facts on this internet site , likewise I believe the style has got superb features. I love this post. Very well written.

Leave a Reply

